1. Sports
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Greg Biffle Dominates Long Green Flag Run for Texas Success

Biffle Wins as Race Ends With 234 Laps of Uninterrupted Green Flag Running


Updated April 15, 2012
Texas Motor Speedway has a reputation for being fast and tough. In the past many drivers have left Texas frustrated with wrinkled sheet metal after a tough night.

Tonight the 2012 Samsung Mobile 500 was completely different. This race went green after the second caution on lap 101 and remained green all the way to the checkered flag over 349 miles later.

Greg Biffle dominated the early racing and the late racing while Jimmie Johnson ruled the middle of the race. When it came down to it this one wasn't in much doubt and the best team got the win.


Michael Waltrip Racing and Roush-Fenway Racing drivers dominated qualifying.

Martin Truex Jr. put his Michael Waltrip Racing Toyota on the pole with a lap of 190.369 MPH. This quick lap was still almost six MPH short of Brian Vickers' 2006 record setting lap of 196.235 MPH.

Roush-Fenway Racing teammates Matt Kenseth and Greg Biffle started second and third.

Former Roush driver Mark Martin was fourth quickest for Michael Waltrip Racing. Kasey Kahne was the only Chevrolet driver to crack the top five in qualifying as he rounded out the top five for Hendrick Motorsports.

Drop Of The Green

The wind was gusting up to 40 MPH which was blowing the cars around and making the drivers uneasy. Truex lead the field into turn one on the bottom and brought Greg Biffle through with him on the bottom while Kenseth slipped back to fifth on the outside before getting in line on the bottom.

The leaders were running single-file on the bottom all the way back to about fifteenth place.

As the first green flag tire run was winding down Greg Biffle started to chip away at Truex's lead. On lap 31 Biffle got a run on the top and moved past Truex for the lead.

Biffle was making me look like a genius at this point as my prediction was coming true. Just a few laps later Biffle's teammate Matt Kenseth also moved past Truex and took over second place.

This race started with a long green flag run and Greg Biffle continued to dominate the early going through green flag pit stops and beyond.


While Greg Biffle ruled the first part of the race it was Jimmie Johnson who dominated the center of the race. We ran the final 233 laps without a caution flag which gave this race a unique look.

Texas Motor Speedway burst on the NASCAR Sprint Cup scene in 1997 with a bang. The very first Sprint Cup race in Texas started with a thirteen car pile-up in turn one and didn't improve much from there.

They bent up a lot of sheetmetal that day.

Today however was the exact opposite as Texas Motor Speedway featured very long green flag runs with multiple green flag pit stops to put pressure on the pit crews to get the job done.

Chasing The Checkers

As the race entered the final fifty laps Jimmie Johnson and Greg Biffle left pit road together under green. Johnson got back up to speed with a .6 second lead over Biffle and 8.5 seconds over third place Mark Martin.

After 200 consecutive laps of green flag racing Biffle ran Johnson down for the lead with with 31 to go in the race. Biffle got under Johnson and slid up in front of him to take over the top spot.

Johnson lead the majority of the race but it seemed like Biffle was just saving his equipment and waiting until it was time to go.

With ten laps to go Johnson had brushed the wall and Biffle's lead was over 3 seconds. Truly Biffle had them covered today and rolled it home to complete a 234 lap green flag run and take the checkered flag.

Top Ten

  1. Greg Biffle
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Mark Martin
  4. Jeff Gordon
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Carl Edwards
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Dale Earnhardt Jr.

The Points

Greg Biffle added his first win of 2012 to an already impressive year. Biffle extended his point lead as Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt Jr. are tied for second ninteen points behind.

The 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Standings:

  1. Greg Biffle
  2. Matt Kenseth -19
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. -19
  4. Martin Truex Jr. -20
  5. Kevin Harvick -24
  6. Denny Hamlin -31
  7. Tony Stewart -39
  8. Jimmie Johnson -40
  9. Ryan Newman -48
  10. Clint Bowyer -55
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. NASCAR Racing
  4. History of NASCAR
  5. 2012 NASCAR Season
  6. Greg Biffle Dominates Long Green Flag Run for Texas Success

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.